10 Chapters a Day for a Year

How is your discipline of Scripture reading? Honestly?

For me, this is an area where I don’t always do as well as I should. Tim Challies has suggested a proposal for the new year: “Do you think it would change your life if you were to read 3,650 chapters of the Bible over the course of the next year?”

Challies’ thought experiment is from Professor Horner’s Bible-Reading System. The goal is to read 10 chapters a day, with each chapter coming from a different book of the Bible. You are not supposed to read slowly, but read at a good pace and allow multiple readings of Scripture to get inside you!

Click on the image for YouVersion mobile info.

One of the great things about this is that you can combine the plan with the ultra sweet Bible app called YouVersion. Professor Horner’s reading plan is built right into this app, which allows you to choose your favorite version, and read or listen to the text. So far I have been listening to it when I go to bed at night and I am really enjoying a new way of engaging with Scripture.

For me, this doesn’t feel like too big of a challenge for this coming year. I already listen to a ton of audio, so this will just give me some focus. If you want to join me on this challenge you should consider joining me on the Facebook group.

Please comment, but note that I reserve the right to delete comments I don't feel are helpful. If in doubt, read my comments policy.

