Steve Jobs and the Job with Boils

When I was a kid I had some sweet toys! As a pastor’s kid, my parents happily bought me Biblical action figures instead of G.I. Joes. My favorite one by far was  Jonah and the whale! I had a whale large enough to swallow Jonah whole. Poor sucker always got his clothes wet in the tub…

Anyway, I was reminded of my childhood today when I heard about Apple’s newest legal issue. Apparently a company in Hong Kong called In Icons has created a 12 inch life-like action figure of Steve Jobs. Apple claims that it owns the rights to the likeness of its deceased founder, so it is threatening legal action against In Icons.

I can’t resist the urge to juxtapose the Bible action doll of Job, complete with boils with the stylish Jobs.

Books like Toying with God: The World of Religious Games and Dolls help remind us of the way that the toys we create for our children shape their long term desires, well simultaneously providing us with pictures of what we long for. The fact that a Steve Jobs toy can even exist indicates that technology is one of the most important contemporary values.

If your curious, Steve’s doll has already sold out, whereas I can’t seem to access trainupachild.com to purchase the figure of Job (for some reason my parents never did get this one for me).

Please comment, but note that I reserve the right to delete comments I don't feel are helpful. If in doubt, read my comments policy.

