Facebook and Narcissism

John Dyer, author of the wonderful From the Garden to the City, has written a wonderful blog post on Facebook and Narcissism. The following picture which accompanies his blog post was too great to not repost here!

A related podcast on this topic can be found at Shane Hipp’s blog and is called iGeneration.

So with self-aware irony check out the newest way to create an idol, umm I mean infographic, of yourself. Intel has created a new tool called “What About Me?” They describe it this way: “With What about Me? you can capture a snapshot of your social media life and create your own colorful image, full of clues and facts about one of the most fascinating subjects in the world — you!” Here’s an infographic all about me:

I was impressed with how it pegged me as concerned mostly with study and technology, but I was concerned that my social media profile is largely connected to shopping. Oh well…I guess someone has to pay for these massive social media superstructures.

Please comment, but note that I reserve the right to delete comments I don't feel are helpful. If in doubt, read my comments policy.

