Review of Lord Change Me by James Macdonald

I just finished listening to Lord Change Me by James Macdonald. This was my first exposure to Macdonald’s work and it really impressed me. I mostly liked it because of how practical it is. As a pastor, Macdonald’s writing has been tested in the crucible of real-life, so he really understands where the popular reader is at.
The book is broken into three main sections:
  1. The Preparation for Change – this section walks through understanding “faulty methods for change”; sets up a process for admitting to God that you are willing to change;  and guidance for choosing things you’re willing to change.
  2. The Process for Change – this section frames a biblical theology for supporting the process of changing.
  3. The Power for Change – this section outlines three main power sources: the power of the Holy Spirit, the power of faith, and the power of Christian friends who can keep you accountable and growing in your faith.

The book flows well through this outline, and I really liked the skill Macdonald has for making material engaging. He employs interesting stories, unique formatting, and memorable phraseology. But the best thing about the book is Macdonald’s confidence. He really believes he has been honest with scripture and personal experience in order to develop a step-by-step process that really works. He introduces the book this way:

“This is not a book to help you ‘talk a better game,’ nor isit designed to fill your head with information. This book is about a different you. After much prayer and reflection, I believe I can promise you with 100 percent assurance that if you apply to your heart and life the biblical principles in this book, you will be changed!”

Overall, this first taste of Macdonald’s writing has me really excited. I saved multiple quotes for future  classes and sermon illustrations; I also plan to read more of his work in the near future.

Full Disclaimer: I received this book as part of the Christianaudio.com reviewers’ program, which does give away free books in exchange for reviews, but I am not required to give a positive review in order to participate in this program.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Please comment, but note that I reserve the right to delete comments I don't feel are helpful. If in doubt, read my comments policy.

