Addicted to Social Media? Try Creating Proprietary Spaces

If you are addicted to social media, or just want to limit your intake, here are some suggestions from the book: Follow You, Follow Me: Why Social Networking is Essential to Ministry by John Fred Frank Voelz III (which, by the way, is currently on sale for 3.99 for Kindle).

  • Set up a time when you plan on checking your Social Networking platforms and limit yourself to that time. I do this in many areas of ministry. I only counsel on Wednesdays. I only allow myself to run one satellite group at a time. I don’t answer my phone after 5:00 p.m. I don’t talk church business with staff once I am home.
  • Some limit their Social Networking to certain days or to only so many minutes a day.
  • Leave your computer at the office at night. Turn off your smartphone. Set your preferences in Twitter to only notify you during certain hours. Don’t allow your tweets to go to your SMS on your phone like all your other text messages. Don’t allow Social Networking to alert you through e-mails when you receive new messages.
  • You may want to create proprietary spaces. These are the spaces dedicated to engaging in certain activities and only those activities. When I was growing up, I could not bring my toys into Grandpa’s den. That was the spot where he unwound, smoked a pipe, and watched TV. It was dedicated. Pick an area (a desk in the lobby, a coffee shop, and so on) as the place where you engage in Social Networking. Sometimes when we limit ourselves to spaces, it enables us to create other sacred spaces that become an important part of our ability to disconnect, meditate, rest, breathe easy, remove distractions, study, pray, and so forth. If you sit at your office desk and have a hard time knowing whether to do the schedule, make the call, read the book, do the follow-up, or check your Facebook, you may need to create proprietary spaces.

Related Articles:

2 responses to “Addicted to Social Media? Try Creating Proprietary Spaces

Please comment, but note that I reserve the right to delete comments I don't feel are helpful. If in doubt, read my comments policy.

