Review of To Live is Christ, To Die is Gain by Matt Chandler and Jared C. Wilson

I enjoyed the audio version of Review of To Live is Christ, To Die is Gain by Matt Chandler and Jared C. Wilson. This book caught my attention because of their previous work, The Explicit Gospel. Unfortunately, if you are familiar with their other work, you may be disappointed. This book runs through the book of Philippians in a devotional format, and doesn’t go very deep as a commentary. On the personal level, Chandler is a great author to interact with Philippians because he has battled brain cancer. It truly would be hard for someone to honestly write on Philippians who hasn’t engaged some level of severe suffering.

The narrator is excellent, but I found myself continually wishing the book was over. For some reason this book just doesn’t work well as an audiobook. I think it is the first time I tried to listen to a devotional-commentary. I am certain I would have liked the book more as a hard copy, but that might just be me. You can buy it from Christianaudio.com here.

Please comment, but note that I reserve the right to delete comments I don't feel are helpful. If in doubt, read my comments policy.

